RSS Feed

I’m So DIY: Glitter Push Pins

Yay! It’s time for another installment of I’m So DIY. Today, I’m sharing how I turned my boring clear push pins into gold glittered push pins. I felt like my bulletin board needed a little pizzazz. (Yup! I just used the word pizzazz.)

Here’s what you’re going to need:

  1. Mod Podge (or some other clear drying liquid adhesive)
  2. Glitter
  3. Sponge brush
  4. Push pins (white or clear)
  5. A scrap of cardboard or those green foam blocks from the craft store (basically, something you can push your pins into)
  6. Newspaper to cover your surface (glitter is messy!)

Glitter Push Pins DIY

The first thing you want to do is gather all of your materials and set up your workspace; lay out the newspaper to cover a large area [1]. You never know when you might accidentally spill a ton of glitter. I used a small postal box to push my pins into. I pushed the holes in BEFORE I glittered them so it would be easier to gently push them in to dry [2]. Once you have holes for your pins to sit in, doing one pin at a time, use your sponge brush to apply some Mod Podge [3].

Glitter Push Pins DIY

When you’ve got a good coat of Mod Podge, dip the pin into your container of glitter [4]. Gently put your pins into the holes you made previously to allow them to dry [5]. I repeated the Mod Podge-ing and dipping and after the second dipping dried, I applied a coat of Mod Podge to the pins to finish and seal them (this will keep the glitter from coming off onto your fingers).

Glitter Push Pins DIY

Here’s a close up of one of my pins in use on my inspiration board. I love them so much. It’s such a quick and easy project but they really bring something a little extra to my inspiration board. If you end up doing this project, leave a link in the comments so I can check it out! Hope you have fun and happy crafting!

3 responses »

  1. Very cool! It might be a small update, but it definitely makes the board look more interesting overall.

    Reply
  2. thanks! those are so cute. I will be making some and using them on my desk at work!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

