RSS Feed

IKEA Bulletin Board Hack

Stephen got me a new table for Christmas for my sewing space (more details on that later). I wanted to continue the trend of organizing my workspace and making it a more efficient area to complete projects, so I decided I wanted to get a bulletin board.

I can write lists all I want but the fact of the matter is that I often times put the notebook away somewhere in an effort to keep the house tidy. Whatever to-do list I may have written gets lost and a lot of what I want to accomplish is forgotten, since I have a horrible memory. I’ve come up with a process that may be a little redundant but I think will help me get more accomplished and still keep my space neat. And to do so, I couldn’t use just any old bulletin board. I needed something…INSPIRATIONAL!

Image found on IKEA (since I forgot to take a photo of mine before I started working on it)

DIY Fabric Covered Bulletin Board

I purchased a $6 bulletin board from IKEA. Totally a great price but so, so boring. Blah! I taped around the wooden frame (on the actual cork part) and painted the untreated wood white with some acrylic paint (1). After the paint dried, I measured the space of the cork board and cut a piece of fabric to size (3). I chose a mod polka dot print (Sunspots in Midnight from Amy Butler’s Love collection) (2). I love the blue tones. I know it’s simple but I still think it’s so fun. And I thought with the white frame, it would really make the print pop.

DIY Fabric Covered Bulletin Board

I lined the fabric up along the edges of the board frame (4) and used some fabric glue on the perimeter of the fabric to adhere it to the cork board (5). I put the glue on as close to the edge as possible to keep the fabric from lifting. I also pinned the opposite corners to keep it from shifting (6). I let the fabric dry overnight and the following morning prepared it for hanging.

The bulletin boards from IKEA come with hanging hardware and string but I wanted to hang it like you hang a picture. I had other hardware on hand and attached the bar with the teeth (not sure what the technical term is) to the back of the board, right on the frame (7). And I may or may not have hit my finger half a dozen times trying to hammer that tiny nail in. I hammered a hook into the wall and viola! Fabric covered bulletin board complete (8).

DIY Fabric Covered Bulletin Board

As for my to-do process: I have a notebook that I’m keeping a running list of goals and things to accomplish. I’m prioritizing the items on the list, writing a few at a time onto post-it notes, and tacking them to the board. Once a task is complete, I’ll consult my notebook, cross that item off the list, throw the post-it away, and replace it with a new task/goal to be completed. Hopefully, this will keep things neat and, more importantly, not forgotten.

What are you doing this New Year to keep yourself organized? I’d love to hear what you’ve got going on to get inspired.

2 responses »

  1. Awesome! It looks great!

    Reply
  2. You can hang your to-do lists out for all to see b/c you have pretty handwriting. I could never get away with this with my chicken-scratch – it would just be an eye-sore!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

