RSS Feed

Focusing on the Needs, Not Wants

I often times find myself comparing my life to others. It’s a horrible, horrible habit of mine. One that I’m hoping to work on and obliterate from my life. In the past, I’ve found myself getting jealous at the fact that others have more than I do or are able to go on vacations or do more than I’m able to. And the thing is, I am blessed beyond all measure. I have SO MUCH compared to others. I may not be able to take two-week vacations to Europe, going out to eat for me is going to Chik-Fil-A, and buying new clothes oftentimes means buying one new shirt…on clearance…at Old Navy. But I have a loving family, a roof over my head, heat in my house, and food in my belly, among a slew of other luxuries.

Father and son love

[Stephen playing with the little guy]

When I start to get down about not having the things I want (take note: things I want and don’t need), Stephen always helps me to put things into perspective. I make assumptions that the people I know who have more than me are better off financially. And, a lot of times, this isn’t the case. We live in a culture where most people live beyond their means. We have so much yet always want more. People that are taking big vacations every year and going out to eat constantly at nice restaurants likely have large amounts of unnecessary debt. It’s so important for each of us to not compare ourselves to others. And, just as important, is to not make assumptions about others. It’s damaging to both parties. For the person making the assumption, you harbor a lot of negativity, jealousy, and bitterness. I don’t think I need to elaborate on why holding on to those feelings is not good. And for the other person, they’re being completely misjudged. Your attitude towards them can affect the way you, and others, treat them.

What I’d like for you, and myself, to take away from this post is to not compare yourself to others. To delight in your successes and, also, the successes of others. Secondly, it’s not a horrible thing to have wants but it is important to not let it overcome you. And you don’t want it to negatively affect your attitude towards others and what you have been blessed with.

6 responses »

  1. AMEN!!!!!
    What a wonderful outlook…you have gained so much wisdom. I’m so proud of you and Stephen too.

    Reply
  2. To me, going out to Chic-Fil-A IS the good life!!!! Esp. when shared in the company of good friends. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Hoot, what a beautiful photo! I don’t know if I have too many shots that are close to taht cute! I agree you cannot compare your life to others. You have to live you’r life and follow you’re dreams right! If you worry what others do and say of you, how can you hear you’re own heart?

    From age of 13 years, I have seen many countries, now living in aomori and engaged to a beautiful girl! Of course it was not easy to get here, with many poor meals and hungry times, but also remembering many magic lands. I have worked very hard to make it happen from Finland and to reach this place. I have finally made my dream happen with Eri and of course my camera ^_^ which has paid many tickets with many hours of shooting!

    No my choices are not easy but I always lived to follow my heart where I hear heaven’s call. Many blessings to you and your family

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for your kind comment! You’re very right; if you focus too much on worrying what others think of you, you may never know the needs and wants of your own heart. You can close off an amazing world with amazing opportunities.

      Congratulations on your journey- it doesn’t end here! Go forth with strength and courage. And if you have your photos online, please share! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

