RSS Feed

Welcome to the Year 2012

Welcome, 2012! I have high expectations for you. Or maybe it’s that I have high expectations for myself. This is the year to not let myself down. Or let you down, 2012.

New Years 2012 Fireworks

Image found via Pinterest

Two years ago, a friend told me a statistic about New Years resolutions that I had never heard before. I forgot about it for a while until I was thinking about what I’d like to accomplish this year. He told me that if you share your resolutions with others, you subconsciously get a feeling of accomplishment and, in turn, don’t complete those goals you had set for yourself. So, in essence, they say that if you keep your resolutions to yourself, you’re more likely to succeed in completing them. I can sort of see that. But at the same time, I also think that if you share your goals with one person, or a few select people, they can keep you accountable. I’m struggling with these two perspectives and not really sure how specific I want to get with sharing my goals.

I’m excited about the goals I’ve set for myself this year. So, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ll share them albeit rather vaguely. So, 2012, this is what I’m hoping to get out of you:

Grow in my relationship with God, with Stephen (spend more quality time together), and with Caleb

Learn to be more organized and more efficient

Grow my Etsy business

Grow this blog and extend its reach beyond friends and family

Make healthier eating choices

Exercise more frequently (and this and the above are not the typical “I’d like to lose 15 pounds” goal; this is to be a lifestyle change)

Within each of these goals, I have a list of specifics but probably will not share what they are until I’ve reached them. Very mysterious, no? Welcome, 2012! I’m excited to see what you bring to the table.

Leave a Reply

