RSS Feed

Time Management

Make that efficient time management.

I’m not a bragger. At least I hope I’m not. Sometimes if I know I do something well, I’ll mistake being confident with being braggy. One thing I’m always afraid of is sounding like I think I’m really awesome. But I’m kind of going off on a tangent. This is supposed to be about time management.

I’m a pretty good direction taker. I work hard and if you give me a list of things that need to be done, and a time when those tasks should be completed, I’ll get it done for you. No problem. But when I give myself tasks, I totally overwhelm myself. Not on purpose, of course. Sometimes I have a bunch of vague ideas and don’t know how to develop them because my mind is so cluttered with a million other seedling ideas.

If someone else determines tasks I need to complete, I can totally manage those tasks and block them out into time chunks to be completed. I’m SO SO SO not good at blocking out my own days. When the tasks are decided and delegated by me and to me…much failure ensues. I really need to learn how to work efficiently. I need to learn to effectively schedule my tasks during the day.

Wipeable to do list

Image found here

One of the things I find that makes it hard for me is trying to work at home and be a full-time mommy at the same time. How do other blogging/crafting mommies do it? Please! This is a cry for help.

My issue is that I feel like if I’m home with Caleb, he needs me to be stimulating him and spending time with him constantly. If I put him in a walker or let him crawl around on the floor and don’t actively interact with him, I’m afraid that he’s not going to learn the things he needs to learn. I start to feel guilty that I’m neglecting him and his needs. And I know a lot of mommies say that nap time is their really productive time. I wish I knew what to expect every day in terms of naps but, the fact of the matter is, I don’t. Sometimes he’ll nap for 2-3 hours, sometimes 30 minutes. Because of that, I don’t get into projects because I have no idea how much time I’ll have.

Other mommies out there… What do you do?

Leave a Reply

