RSS Feed

When You’re Just Trying to Keep it Simple

Two weekends ago, Steve and I went to the Jersey shore with some really good friends of ours. The wife and I were talking about sewing and crafting stuff all weekend. Which I have to add was so refreshing since we both appreciate the same aesthetics so it felt good to talk to someone that was on the same page as me. We’re both trying to get our creative businesses up and running and it just felt so good to be able to talk to someone about the roadblocks I’m running into.

I mentioned here that I’ve been working on bag designs of my own and that I was in the process of putting the finishing touches on one of them. And, even though I thought what I was doing wasn’t too complicated or over the top, I haven’t found a good solution to the problems I was running into. She shared a few websites she looks at and some tips she was able to get from some other crafters and, basically, we came to the conclusion that starting simple is probably best. I felt this need to reinvent the wheel, or reinvent the process of bag making, which is never going to be possible. As long as I can make it unique to me, that’s what matters.

After the talks we had, I scrapped the bag design I was working on and started drawing up some new ones. I’ve got 4 designs drawn up. I’ve got the bag shape and construction down and am now trying to work out the kinks on the embellishments I’d like. And what I thought was going to be simple, again, is not working out as easily as I thought it would. I’m going into it with renewed motivation though because I know for the design I’m currently working on, there is a solution. I just have to find it.

So, I guess what I’m trying to say in this somewhat lengthy post is that I know I’ve been mentioning over and over again that I’m putting finishing touches on bags and hope to reveal them soon but have not actually revealed anything. And I guess sometimes that’s just the way things go when you’re pursuing creative endeavors. I am working things out and I will post something as soon as the kinks are worked out and I just want anyone who happens to be following this blog to know that I’m not giving up. That is, if anyone is invested or cares as much as I do about this journey.  😉

One response »

  1. Pingback: That Was Faster Than I Thought « It's a Hoot!

Leave a Reply

